The Dental Council is a regulatory authority created by the Health Practitioners Competence Assurance Act 2003. We ensure oral health practitioners meet and maintain our standards in order to protect the health and safety of the New Zealand public.

The oral health practitioners we regulate are dentists, dental specialists, dental therapists, dental hygienists, clinical dental technicians, dental technicians, and orthodontic auxiliaries.

Find a
registered oral health practitioner

Dental Council Newsletter - April 2015

The April 2015 edition contains information on the NZDREX process change;  the follow-up consultation on the Standards F...

Follow-up consultation on the Standards Framework for Oral Health Practitioners

Council is consulting on a revised version of the Standards framework for oral health practitioners, following considera...

Consultation outcome on the ADC/DC(NZ) Accreditation Standards

Dental programmes in New Zealand and Australia are accredited using the joint ADC/DC(NZ) accreditation standards (‘accre...