DENTAL COUNCIL

Te Kaunihera Tiaki Niho

DENTISTRY - DENTAL HYGIENE - CLINICAL DENTAL TECHNOLOGY - DENTAL TECHNOLOGY - DENTAL THERAPY

Summary of Decisions

From the Dental Council meeting - 3 December 2012

The Dental Council is the statutory body constituted under the Health Practitioners Competence Assurance Act 2003 (The Act) to maintain the health and safety of members of the public by providing mechanisms to ensure that health practitioners are competent and fit to practise. Council endeavours to keep its key stakeholders up to date with key decisions. This document is a summary of Council's decisions from the meeting held in 3 December 2012.

Commencement of a new CDP Cycle

The current four year CPD cycle for dentists and dental specialists is to end on 31 December 2012. Pursuant to section 41 of the HPCA Act, Council sets a formal recertification programme for all dentists and dental specialists to commence on 1 January 2013 and end on 31 December 2016. Each registered dentists and dental specialist is to undertake and complete 80 hours of verifiable CPD and 12 peer contact activities by 31 December 2016. The Registrar will notify all registered dentists and dental specialists in accordance with section 41(6) of the Act.

Oral Surgery – second consultation responses

The Council considered the submissions received on the second consultation on oral surgery. Council agreed that the definition of the Oral Surgery and Oral and Maxillofacial surgery should remain as they are currently gazetted. Outcome letters will be issued to relevant stakeholders.

Code of Practice Standing Committee Appointment

The council appointed the following members to the Code of Practice Standing Committee for a three year term:

- Robin Whyman Council member and Chair
- Karl Lyons Dental Specialist
- Tania Stuart Dentist
- Dianne Pevreal Dental Therapist
- Sharmyn Turner Dental Hygienist
- Anita Nolan Academic
- Sue Ineson Layperson;

The Council will approach Justin Wall to determine his willingness to be a Maori representative on the committee. The Chair of the Council was delegated responsibility for appointing the dental technician member after further liaison with NZIDT.

Medical Emergencies Code of Practice

The Council reviewed the progress of the Medical Emergencies Code of Practice working group. The working group's recommendations and the proposed code of practice changes will be considered at Council's February/March 2013 meeting.

AUT 2013 Accreditation review team appointments

The Council appointed the following members to the 2013 AUT BHSc(Oral Health) Accreditation review team:

- July Satur Senior Academic and Chair
- Catherine Schillinger Dental Hygiene
- Christing Rimene Layperson and pervious review team member

The Council will further liaise with NZDHOTA to seek nominations for a dental therapist member on the review team. Minnie McGibbon has been delegated the responsibility to appoint the dental therapist member.

FRACDS(OMS) accreditation period

The Council agreed to extend the accreditation of the Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Education and Training Programme of the Royal Australasian College of Dental Surgeons until 31 October 2013 to allow for the accreditation processes to be finalised.

CPD Advisory Committee

The Council appointed John Aarts to the CPD Advisory Committee.