DENTAL COUNCIL

Te Kaunihera Tiaki Niho

DENTISTRY - DENTAL HYGIENE - CLINICAL DENTAL TECHNOLOGY - DENTAL TECHNOLOGY - DENTAL THERAPY

Summary of Decisions

From the Dental Council meeting – 3 February 2014

The Dental Council is the statutory body constituted under the Health Practitioners Competence Assurance Act 2003 (The Act) to maintain the health and safety of members of the public by providing mechanisms to ensure that health practitioners are competent and fit to practise. Council endeavours to keep its key stakeholders up to date with key decisions. This document is a summary of Council's decisions from the meeting held in February 2014.

Election of the Chair and Deputy Chair

Under clause 3, schedule 3 of the HPCA Act (2003), the Council must, at its first meeting of the year, elect from its membership a Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson.

- Dr Michael Bain was elected to continue as Chair of the Dental Council.
- Dr Robin Whyman was elected to continue as Deputy Chair of the Dental Council.

FRACDS(OMS) Accreditation

Council approved the extension of the accreditation period the Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Education and Training Program of the Royal Australasian College of Dental Surgeons until 31 December 2018, subject to submitting a satisfactory peer review report to December 2014.