

Level 10 101–103 The Terrace Wellington New Zealand

> PO Box 10–448 Wellington 6143 New Zealand

Tel: +64 4 499 4820 Fax: +64 4 499 1668 inquiries@dcnz.org.nz

www.dcnz.org.nz

Summary of Decisions

From the Dental Council meeting - 3 June 2014

The Dental Council is the statutory body constituted under the Health Practitioners Competence Assurance Act 2003 (The Act) to maintain the health and safety of members of the public by providing mechanisms to ensure that health practitioners are competent and fit to practise. Council endeavours to keep its key stakeholders up to date with key decisions.

This document is a summary of Council's decisions from the meeting held in June 2014.

Council Appointments

Dr Robin Whyman and Dr Lyndie Foster Page were reappointed for another term on Council to end on 1 June 2017.

Specialist Competencies – Expert Reference Group Specialist

Council approved the draft competencies for special needs dentistry and public health dentistry for discussion at the specialist competencies information gathering forums to be held in June.

Annual Report – University of Otago, Bachelor of Oral Health

The University of Otago Bachelor of Oral Health 2013 annual report was accepted as satisfactory in continuing to meet the accreditation standards.

Annual Report – University of Otago, Bachelor of Dental Surgery

The University of Otago Bachelor of Dental Surgery 2013 annual report was accepted as satisfactory in continuing to meet the accreditation standards.

Council resolved to:

- 1) to close recommendation R5-4: the Faculty request that the Library reviews its hours of opening to more adequately suit the students' needs, especially in the pre-examination periods; and
- 2) that recommendation 'R.5-1: The Faculty continue to lobby the University and Government for funding to enable a new building and/or refurbishment of the current building, and the modernisation of the equipment and other facilities' was to remain open.

Annual Report - University of Otago, Doctor of Clinical Dentistry

The University of Otago Doctor of Clinical Dentistry 2013 annual report was accepted as satisfactory in continuing to meet the accreditation standards.

Council resolved:

- 1) To close recommendation R18-1; Course handbooks should clearly indicate that "it is expected that research related directly to the student's project should be about 30% with other scholarly pursuits and clinical practice occupying the remainder of the time" and explain the process by which funding for these projects is obtained.
- 2) That recommendations R20-1 and R20-2 The proposed changes to the programme in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery be regarded as minor. The Faculty should report on the implementation of the proposed changes in its 2012 Annual Report to the Council. The DClinDent programme in Oral Medicine should be regarded by the Council as a new programme, be closed at the end of 2014, when the students complete the MDS programme in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery;
- 3) All other recommendations would require further reporting.
- 4) That the Faculty be requested to clarify the staffing position on its DClinDent oral medicine programme.

Annual Report - University of Otago, Master of Community Dentistry

The University of Otago Master of Community Dentistry 2013 annual report was accepted as satisfactory in continuing to meet the accreditation standards.

Annual Report - University of Otago, Postgraduate Diploma Clinical Dental Technology

The University of Otago Postgraduate Diploma Clinical Dental Technology 2013 annual report was accepted as satisfactory in continuing to meet the accreditation standards.

Annual Report - University of Otago, Dental Technology

Council resolved that the University of Otago Bachelor of Dental Technology and Bachelor of Dental Technology with honours 2013 annual report programmes continued to meet the accreditation standards.

Audit and Risk Management Committee (ARM) Appointment

Council approved the appointments of Brent Kennerley as Chair and David Stephens as Deputy Chair of the ARM Committee.

ADC/DC(NZ) Accreditation Committee

The ADC/DC(NZ) Accreditation Committee held its meeting in May 2014. The new committee membership comprises:

- Professor Mike Morgan, Chair & ADC Governing Board Member
- Dr Michael Bain
- Associate Professor Werner Bischof
- Ms Jan Connolly (community member & ADC Governing Board Member)

- Dr Lyndie Foster Page
- Associate Professor Mark Gussy
- Dr Chris Handbury
- Professor Robert Love
- Ms Caroline Petroff (student representative)
- Ms Neroli Stayt (community member)
- Associate Professor Jane Taylor.

Council resolved to approve the accreditation committee's recommendations to the accreditation charter.