

Summary of Decisions

From the Dental Council meeting 2 November 2015

Level 10 101–103 The Terrace Wellington New Zealand

> PO Box 10–448 Wellington 6143 New Zealand

Tel: +64 4 499 4820 Fax: +64 4 499 1668 inquiries@dcnz.org.nz

www.dcnz.org.nz

The Dental Council (Council) is the statutory body constituted under the Health Practitioners Competence Assurance Act 2003 (The Act) to maintain the health and safety of members of the public by providing mechanisms to ensure that health practitioners are competent and fit to practise. Council endeavours to keep its key stakeholders up to date with key decisions.

This document is a summary of Council's decisions from the meetings held in November 2015.

Practice Standards review

The Council agreed it will revisit the schedule of remaining practice standards to be reviewed. A paper with an updated risk assessment analysis scheduled will be presented at the December 2015 meeting for consideration.

Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) - Accreditation Site Visit

Professor Robert Love was appointed as Council's academic representative to observe the CODA accreditation site visit at the University of Louisville, Kentucky, USA (1-3 September 2015). Professor Love is a registered general dentist and endodontic specialist with the Council, and a member of the joint ADC/DC(NZ) Accreditation Committee.

The CODA accredited pre-doctoral program is a Council prescribed qualification for registration as a general dentist in New Zealand. The main purpose of the site visit was to verify that the CODA accredited pre-doctoral program met the standard for registration in New Zealand.

Council was satisfied that CODA's program accreditation process was at least as equivalent to its own accreditation process.

Council approved the revalidation of recognition of CODA accredited qualifications gazetted as prescribed qualifications for relevant scopes of practice.

Orthodontic working group – Terms of Reference and membership

Council accepted the draft terms of reference for the orthodontic working group, subject to some changes.

It also approved the following members to the working group:

- Robin Whyman Chair
- Winifred Harding orthodontics specialist
- Brett Hawkins dentist (performing orthodontic treatment)
- Chris Waalkens periodontic specialist
- James Talbot general dentist (with no particular practice interest in orthodontics)

- Paul Brunton senior dental academic
- Sue Ineson lay member

The children's advocate position will be appointed once advice has been received from the Office of the Children's Commissioner.

University of Otago Bachelor of Dental Technology and Bachelor of Dental Technology (Honours)

Council resolved to accept the site evaluation team recommendation to re-accredit the Bachelor of Dental Technology and Bachelor of Dental Technology (Honours) for five years ending 31 December 2020.