Recertification review documents and background

On this page, you will find background information about recertification and all the documentation relating to our current review.

On this page


 

DC Recertification logo 30 percent

Phase 2 Discussion document, issued August 2018

 

Last year, we started a conversation with you about recertification. Having analysed your feedback, we have developed draft proposals to share with you.

We have issued a discussion document for consultation and are seeking your comments and views.

You can register for a forum or webinar we are holding between August and October 2018 to give us your views and feedback on the draft proposals.

You can also complete a submission through our online survey by or before Friday 26 October 2018.

Background material

The following information is intended to support our discussion document by providing further context and background information.

Key themes from phase one consultation

Phase one: Discussion document June 2017

What is recertification?

What does the law require us to do?

Our current approach to recertification

Our 2015-2016 Strategic Plan

Our Standards Framework

 

Literature and research

In 2016, as part of the information gathering process, we conducted a review of New Zealand and international literature on recertification. The literature review is below. For ease of use, we have also broken down the literature review to align with specific aspects of recertification and potential areas of change identified in the discussion document. 

 

A literature review: Recertifying our oral health practitioners (Dental Council, 2017)

 

March 2017 symposium

The Council held a symposium with key stakeholder organisations in March firstly to start our national conversation about the recertification of oral health practitioners and secondly to test the logic and thinking in our preliminary discussion document.

We invited policy-makers and representatives from DHBs and other parties with roles in health regulation, support and advocacy for oral health professions, as well as consumer advocacy.

The presentations and speaking notes from our March 2017 symposium are below, as well as a summary report of the day's proceedings and discussions. The summary report was finalised and distributed to symposium attendees in June 2017.

 

Summary report from the symposium on recertifying our oral health practitioners June 2017

Recertifying our oral health practitioners: Thinking about our future (Robin Whyman, Dental Council Chair)

Keynote address - What patients want: competent oral health therapists (Ron Paterson, Professor of Law, University of Auckland)

Keynote presentation - What patients want: competent oral health therapists (Ron Paterson, Professor of Law, University of Auckland)

Risk based health practitioner regulation in Australia (Paul Shinkfield - National Director, Strategy and Research, AHPRA)

Speaking notes, plenary session, David Crum, New Zealand Dental Association

Speaking notes, plenary session, Arish Naresh, New Zealand Dental & Oral Health Therapists' Association